Estonian Parliament Riigikogu has adopted the necessary law for UPCA’s ratification

On 8 June, the Estonian Parliament Riigikogu adopted a law which ratifies the Agreement on the Unified Patent Court and also the agreement between the Nordic countries and the Baltic countries concerning the location of the regional division of the UPC. Estonia signed the UPCA on 19 February 2013 and the regional division agreement on 4 March 2014. The law concerning the ratification will come to force on 26 June 2017.

Implementation of the unitary patent requires prior ratification of the Agreement on the UPC by at least 13 member states, including France (ratified on 14/03/2014), Germany and the UK. By now, 12 member states have already ratified the UPCA, thus the implementation will be possible after Germany and the UK ratify the agreement.

European Commission’s website on UPCA’s ratification progress can be found here: